You are here

Beds/Baths

3 BR
2 BA
6 Guests

Search Availability

3D Virtual Tour

Area

Haena
North Shore
Rating:
4.7333
(15 Reviews)

Description

Live the ultimate Kauai experience in this luxe and spacious 3-bedroom, 2-bath airy tropical house.

Designed from the ground up as the ultimate tropical vacation home, this three-bedroom, two-bathroom home in the idyllic community of Haena, pampers you with the soothing sounds of the surf, five-star amenities and some of the most awe-inspiring views along the North Shore of Kauai.

Spread across a generous 2,600 square feet, this home’s ideal location puts visitors within easy reach of beaches revered internationally by surfers, swimmers and sailors. Not only is it a leisurely two-minute walk to the nearest waves, but it’s also just down the road from the world-famous Tunnels Beach, Kauai’s snorkeling nirvana. Venture further to experience the dramatic beauty of the Na Pali Coast, or just look out your windows at waterfalls trickling down Mount Makana.

You’ll have more than 800 square feet of covered, luxuriously furnished lanai (what some call a porch) surrounding the house, tempting you outdoors at all hours. Settle in to a deeply padded wicker chair to sip Kona coffee at sunrise, sip a lilikoi fruit smoothie in the afternoon or grill the catch of the day as the skies turn golden during the latest sunset in the United States.

Inside, the home’s open floor plan brings mountain and garden views into the combined kitchen, living and dining area, where you’ll routinely gather to recount the day’s adventures. On the breakfast bar, find a gift basket of local artisan chocolate, Hawaiian spices and discount coupons that will ease your introduction to favorite Kauai treats and adventures—ice cream, bike rentals and a catered dinner. If you need more ideas, leaf through our book of suggestions for hiking, dining and sightseeing, or borrow our beach gear for a day of sunny recreation.

Throughout the house, strategically located windows open to the cooling ocean breezes and bring a light, airy atmosphere to every room. Spacious bedrooms on opposite wings provide ample privacy for groups of couples, friends or families of up to six people. The 12-foot cathedral ceilings and multiple seating areas add to the sense of space.

You’ll immerse in a distinct island experience here. Original island artwork—paintings, carvings, sculpture—captures the tropical beauty. Furnishings are high quality, but casual enough for shorts and flip-flops. You can even bathe under balmy tropical breezes in the enclosed, hot-water outdoor shower.

Each bedroom is arranged for comfort and convenience. The master suite has a king bed, walk-in closet, dressing area, adjoining bathroom and access to a lanai. From the front guest room’s queen bed and lanai, you can gaze at the every-shade-of-green terrain. The second guest bedroom also has access to a lanai and offers cozy quiet and two twin beds that can convert to a king.

In no time, you’ll be living like a local, stocking up on impossibly fresh sushi and shopping the farmers markets for exotic fruits and vegetables that you whip into smoothies and cocktails. With a kitchen outfitted for the most discerning chefs, you’ll be turning out quick meals on the barbecue gas grill with ease. You won’t lack for indoor entertainment with a 42-inch flat-screen television with surround sound, a DVD player and high-speed Wi-Fi.

In anticipation of our guests’ every need, the electronic front door locks require no keys to pick up, share or return. The kitchen is fully stocked. The laundry room features an over-sized washer, dryer and large pantry.

If you feel like you’re in a movie set, that’s because you are. Views through the sliding glass doors frame Makana Mountain, which stood in for Bali Hai in the classic movie, “South Pacific.” Nearby, George Clooney filmed scenes for “The Descendants.” In such pleasant surroundings, you can’t help but feel like a star.

No Air Conditioning

No Smoking

TVNCU# 5136 ... 24/7 On-Island contact: Kauai Vacation Rentals
Property located in Tsunami Evacuation Zone
TA-160-126-3616-02

Amenities

Beds

  • King 1
  • Queen 1
  • Twin 2

Home Essentials

  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens Provided
  • Cable TV
  • CD Player
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Ironing Board
  • Telephone
  • Washer & Dryer

Kitchen

  • Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Blender
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave

Outside

  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck
  • Gas Grill
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill

Area / View

  • Garden View

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
September 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Location

Reviews

Leave Review

Exceptional House in Haena

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, August 18, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

The home was well kept, clean, and breezy. Fantastic swimming spots just a short walk away. Loved the outdoor shower, the comfortable beds, the quiet nights, and the kitchen/BBQ was more than adequate for cooking at home each night. Don't miss the Dolphin Fish Market in Hanalei and the local farmers' markets.

David V.
Berkeley, CA

Perfect Kauai Getaway on the North Shore

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, August 1, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

If your looking to stay on the greener/tropical side of the island, look no further! Spectacular views of the mountains, with a quick short, cute walk to the beach with the BEST sunsets. House has everything you need and more. Floor fans were much appreciated to help move the air through the house when there was no wind. Outdoor shower was amazing and perfect to rinse the sand, shoes and toys. The decks were spacious and provided lot of opportunities for making memories during family game nights. Little details like beach chairs, beach towels, etc. did not go unnoticed. Hanalei is a 15 minute drive into town and has some great food and yummy shaved ice. Thank you for a wonderful stay and for helping this first time Kauai family fall in love with your beautiful island!!

Jennifer K.
Chino Hills, CA

Home away from home

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, June 30, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

The rental company was a pleasure to book with. The check in/ out process was simple. The house is beautiful and great location for North Shore lovers. The house exceeded our expectations.

Ginger B.
Whittier, CA

Perfect Get Away

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, June 16, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We loved staying in the Haena house on the North end. The house had everything we needed for our time together as a family. We loved having coffee on the lanai and viewing the mountains. Our favorite beach (Tunnels) was close by. We discovered the beautiful gardens to visit down the road and local market. Hanalei was a short drive for restaurants and shops. Perfect get away!

Tim D.
Sugar Land, TX

Great Vacation!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, May 21, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Love this area and can’t wait to go back.

LeAnn P.M.
Fredericksburg, TX

Beautiful stay in the Best part of the Island!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We absolutely love it here. It is our 4th time staying in the neighborhood and we will be returning. The views from every window of the house were amazing. A few minute walk down small path leads the beach for a quick sunset or a 15 minute or so walk to Tunnels. The house was perfect for two couples and we had everything we needed. Just wish we had stayed longer!

Beckett M.
Los Angeles, CA

Pure Paradise!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Always a perfect stay with Kauai Vacation Rentals. Excellent communication. Property was absolutely perfect. Loved the path to the beach! Coffee on the lanai with double rainbows, magical. The house was spotless and had all the amenities we needed. We are always recommending Kauai Vacation Rentals - every property we have stayed at is perfect. But this one topped them! Dinner at Postcards - great! Dinner at AMA - spectacular! Dolphin Fish Market - Best Poke and sushi ever! Donuts at Holy Grail a must! Re-entry from paradise is rough! Thank you for a spectacular 11 days.

Amy J.
Camano Island, WA

Nice place for Staying

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

I fall in love with this place. Is was really nice, bright and clean. A big thank you to the owner of this place.

Nataliia S.
Palatine, IL

Great week at Haena Sunrise

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, February 26, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

The home was as described and provided an excellent base for our stay on Kauai. The kids enjoyed exploring the tidal pools on the beach and petting the horse grazing next door. This house is literally 2 miles from the end of the road on the north shore and over an hour to Lihue. 2.5 hours to Waimea canyon.  Also the beach here is interesting and fun but not really for swimming. Regardless we are glad we stayed here and had a great time.

David M.
Fisherville, KY

Perfect Location, Great Views, Privacy

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, February 14, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Bedrooms on either end with nice large open and airy common area/kitchen with lanais on both sides of house. Great view of mountains. Kitchen, bathroom, outdoor bathroom, laundry room all very functional and clean.

David Y.
Santa Barbara, CA

Haena

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

It was a great stay

Alex C.
Fairbanks, AK

Loved Our Stay

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, January 15, 2022
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

The house was a perfect size for a larger group, we never once felt overcrowded. The location was a bit far from the activities we had planned (hiking Waimea) but overall we loved it because it brought us to the north side of the island which we would not have explored otherwise. Covid definitely restricted a few plans, but it was easy to adapt to other options with the wide variety available close to home. The walkable beach was amazing! We brought our morning coffee down there everyday and we’re lucky enough to see some beautiful rainbows as well. All basic necessary amenities were provided, including beach gear which is always a great addition. Overall, great experience and we’d definitely stay here again!

Danielle T.
Long Island City, NY

Terrific Location; Great House; Kauai is Amazing!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Friday, December 31, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Our family of 4 (two teenage children) absolutely loved the house, area, location and island. the home is set up very well for a family of 4-6. 3 big bedrooms, well thought out open space. Large, functional kitchen. two great decks/outdoor space outside each of the bedrooms too. even closer to the beach than we realized. perfect location for accessing Napali Coast hiking trails, north shore beaches, Hanalei, and Kilauea. It is far from Waimea Canyon area and west coast beaches.

Ben R.
Glencoe, IL

Birthday Trip

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Great house. Decks on both sides, a nice breeze when you open the doors and windows, nice amenities in the house. We had two couples and really enjoyed our stay. The house is a short walk to the beach (it's mainly coral) but you can walk a small distance to get to a beach where you can actually relax on the sand. Great views, close to the Napali Coast and Tunnels beach. About 15 minutes from Hanalei Bay.

Grant H.
San Luis Obispo, CA

Group of Friends on Vacation

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, November 13, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We had three couples stay at this property. The house is located near the top/northern most part of the island. It is perfect if your goal is relaxation and easy access to beaches and hiking. Hanalei is an easy and pretty 15-17 minute drive for small groceries, restaurants, shopping, etc. We enjoyed this property because it was a little further out and planned our activities in the south as it is a two hour plus drive to hike in the canyon or go to Poipu etc. The outdoor shower was great and made it easy for post beach pre dinner clean up. Well stocked kitchen and great lanai to enjoy.

Nathan B.
Minneapolis, MN

October 2021 stay

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Friday, October 29, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We had a wonderful stay at Haena Sunrise. The place has a great view of the mountains. We enjoyed our mornings out on the lanai. Tunnels beach is a short walk away. It was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of Hanalei, but close enough to go into town for meals. Great stay! We would love to go back!

Lindsay M.
San Rafael, CA

Haena Sunrise October 2021

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

This is a wonderful location if you want to be away from the crowds. The views from both Lanais are beautiful and the house is spacious and well-appointed. We would return to this property.

Dorothy B.
San Francisco, CA

Beautiful Mountain Views

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, September 4, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We were really impressed with the beautiful mountain views. The house was very clean and comfortable. The path to the beach was just a short walk. We had a great time. We would definitely stay here again.

Aaron H.
Mammoth Lakes, CA

Wonderful Home in Haena!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Sunday, August 1, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We loved our stay at Haena Sunrise! We booked the home the day of the avalanche in 2021, nervous about how that would work out staying North of it, and also nervous as there were no post pandemic reviews of the home. Thankfully we were overwhelmingly pleased by everything about the house! We were three couples and each room is soundproofed from the great room. The beds are super comfortable, the kitchen is nicely appointed, the views from the decks are out of this world. We often walked to Tunnels, using the provided beach chairs, and watched sunsets from our very close beach, as well as Ke'e and Kahalahala Beach (our favorite). The convoy made the traffic minimal during the week (in an already quiet area), so we think it was ultimately a blessing, even though we had to plan timing for leaving and returning to the North shore. The owners went above and beyond for us, offering a cleaning mid-stay since we were there two weeks, and gifting us with coupons as well as flowers and wine. The house is spotless and great care has gone into all of the details. We highly recommend and would definitely come back.

Ann H.
New York, NY

Loved It!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We loved our stay at Haena Sunrise. The location wad amazing, near the end of the road. We could walk down to the ocean in a few minutes to a beautiful beach to see the sunset, get wet, or just relax by the waves. The house was great, nicely maintained and pleasing to be in. Beautiful views of the mountains. Everyone I talked to at the company was super nice and helpful. We would be back in a heartbeat.

Julie L.
Albany, CA

Superb & Enchanting

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Haena Sunrise house, a mere short walk to a gorgeous beach, was everything we were hoping for our vacation. With amenities galore, Haena sunrise offers guests comfort and tranquility amidst the inspiring splendor that the North coast of Kauai offers. Everyone at Kauai Vacation Rentals was very helpful in addressing all of our questions and problems. We look forward to returning and enjoying Haena Sunrise again!

Colin F.
Mill Valley, CA

Exploring the stunning North Shore from this beautiful home

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, May 29, 2021
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We had such a great stay in this beautiful home in May 2021! The location is perfect for exploring Kauai's stunning north shore. The home is in a quiet and peaceful location. It is just a quick 1 minute walk to the beach. The two large verandas are perfect for outdoor dining and great locations for watching the sunrise and sunset colors. The owner's attention to detail ensures all necessities are provided - as well as additional treats that make staying in this lovely home a "must return" experience! Mahalo for providing this wonderful vacation home - we look forward to staying again!

Joanna C.

December 2019 Stay

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Haena Sunrise was the perfect home for our family reunion over the holidays. We wanted easy access to beaches, hiking trails, and parks without the hustle of being right in town. The village of Hanalei Bay offered all the shopping, groceries, and restaurants we needed, yet the 10-minute drive kept us away from traffic and crowds. The home is beautiful, spacious for six, and has a large great room with front and back lanais, perfect for cooking, eating, and relaxing together without getting on top of one another. With extra towels, bedding, scuba gear, and a well stocked kitchen, Haena Sunrise had everything we needed. This was our fourth trip to Hawaii and we were delighted that the nearby golden sand beaches were the nicest and quietest we have experienced. While it rained a lot the week of our stay, we got some sunshine every day and saw beautiful rainbows.

Aggie & Charles S.
Duvall, WA

Great Place

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Comfortable and clean. Loved our location.

Florence M.
Billings, MT

Wonderful Welcome Back to Haena!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

I love this house. I will always return to this wonderful, comfortable, inviting home. It is beautifully furnished, both inside and out, and has all of the amenities any traveler can wish. It easily accommodates up to 6 guests, and is as comfortable for entertaining as it is when returning from a long day of sightseeing. There are two comfortable lanais, so there are always breezes surrounding this home. I look forward to being here next year! Mahalo.

Jan R.
Marana, AZ

Private & peaceful area

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

The setting for this home is beautiful and was in a very private & peaceful area with a 3 minute walk to one of the best beaches on the island. Spacious bedrooms with a wonderful master bathroom. Small additional touches were very nice which I'll leave as a surprise for future guests.

Brian B.
Calgary AB

Fantastic week

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, March 12, 2018
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Mahalo, Mahalo, Mahalo.. a fantastic week in a perfect House. We hope we get a second chance to return to this stunning Kauai Island Greetings... Michael and friends

Michael B.
Rutesheim, Germany

A week in Paradise

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, February 10, 2018
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

A perfect experience
Thank you to our hosts for a wonderful week in Kauai. The house was a great place to spend this week in paradise. Beautiful house in a great location.

David S.
Highland Park, NJ

Perfect location

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, December 16, 2017
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

The house is very light & spacious, creating a wonderful atmosphere. It is set in the most beautiful part of the island, close to beaches & hikes and well away from resorts.

Kauai at it's best!

Helen M.
Wanaka New Zealand

Spacious and well stocked home

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, February 18, 2017
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We had a wonderful vacation for two weeks at Haena Sunrise. The bedrooms were so spacious and each had its own TV. The kitchen was very well stocked for cooking meals at the house. We loved the open lanai on both sides of the house so we could sit outside and enjoy the views and the breezes. It was so easy to enjoy the house features right away because there are instruction notes posted in the house. And the master shower is awesome! We had a wonderful holiday and your Haena Sunrise was a major part of that. I hope we can return next year. 

Kris B.
Canada

Well maintained and Great views

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, October 31, 2016
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Such a well maintained home with great views, WiFi, TV in every room, and really enjoyed having the 2 lanais. Our 3 year old grandson walked in and said, "What a beautiful house grandma!"

Judy C.
Berkeley, CA

Well organized and clean

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We enjoyed Haena Sunrise so much!! The house is so well organized and clean, and the beach is so close. We spent a lot of time relaxing on the comfortable furniture on the outside decks. There is even an outdoor shower which we really enjoyed. We all loved this house and will come back to Haena Sunrise again! 

Joyce M.
Pasadena, CA

A wonderful house for a vacation!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Great Mountain & Waterfall Views, Less than 2-Minute Walk to Beach 

We loved this house! It was very comfortable and well equipped…everything we needed for a great vacation. The beach chairs and sand toys got used every day! We loved all of the open space in the house and eating supper on the lanai. Thanks for the gift certificate for the Balinese dinner...it was exquisite! How nice to have such an easy-to-use laundry room for beach clothes.

Margaret H.
San Francisco, CA

Beautiful & Welcoming Haena Sunrise

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

This lovely, spacious home is inviting, comfortable and beautifully decorated! The kitchen is very well equipped and convenient. The bedrooms are all so comfortable and each one opens directly onto one of the lanais. Haena Sunrise is great for a group of six or even just 1 or 2 people. Both lanais are large with really comfortable furniture and plenty of room for eating, entertaining or just lounging after a long day at the beach or sightseeing. I loved my coffee every morning on the lanai facing the mountain. When I walked the short path to the beach, the view there just took my breath away. I LOVE this house and this part of North Shore! I'll be back soon.

Jan R.
Marana, AZ

Lovely Well Stocked House

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Sunday, September 20, 2015
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We were there during an unprecedented heat wave and yes AC would be nice, but it did cool off fairly well at night. I would strongly suggest ceiling fans on the lanais though! Otherwise everything was great. We had problems with the safe but the rental company came right out and fixed it for us. The house is lovely and in great shape, although since I've seen reviews from 2010 it's obviously not "new" as described in the listing. The kitchen is well stocked, the beds comfortable and while the house is on the highway we were not bothered by traffic noise. There was a lovely basket of goodies and discount coupons waiting for us which was such a nice touch and we felt welcomed and taken care of by the Kauai Vacation Rental folks.

Molly B.
Bosque Farms, NM

Lovely decks

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Sunday, August 16, 2015
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
4

The outdoor decks were lovely and cool with great furniture. We loved the outdoor shower for rinsing the sand off of our feet. While impractical, house air conditioning would be nice. It would also be nice to have a physical key-less door lock to facilitate leaving and entering.

Simone S.
Dallas, TX

Loved everything about this house

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We love this house. We love the space, the views, the accommodations, the beach, the quiet. We love it all!! We will be back!!

Martin L.
WA

Great Details

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
4

Well appointed kitchen and bathroom. Very comfortable beds. House is a great location. Would have liked to have a Pack-and-Play. We loved the details that went into this house and the gift cards/gift bag. Barbecue needs replacing.

E.
Oost, Oregon

Beautiful rooms and a great location

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

When we return to Kauai, we will most certainly consider staying at Haena Sunrise and we will be sure to recommend this house to all of our friends. The house has gracious and beautiful rooms, a great location away from the crowds and we practically lived on the two lanais. Love the outdoor shower!

Tim H.
McLean, VA

Great Location

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, May 18, 2015
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

This house is in a great location, has very comfortable beds, and a well appointed kitchen and bath. We loved the details of the house. The gift bag was a wonderful surprise.

Erin & Jason O.
Portland, OR

Well appointed home with a comfy bed

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Comfy master bed, well appointed kitchen (including spices) great location, had all the basic supplies and extras (beach things, towels). Loved grilling fresh fish from the Dolphin Market

Amy C.
San Diego, CA

Immaculate home away from home

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, November 24, 2014
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

We were excited to spend another great vacation in Kauai. We stayed at Haena Sunrise in the northern part of the island where it is so green and tropical. What a beautiful home! 
The home is immaculate with a nice open living area, completely furnished including washer and dryer and the kitchen has everything you would need. We love the large walk-in shower in the master bedroom… a favorite!! 
The mountain side lanai has a large table and barbeque where we enjoy grilling the local catch of the day from the Dolphin Fish Market in Hanalei. The Ocean side lanai has a nice comfy patio sectional where you can visit, have a glass of wine, listen to the ocean and enjoy the tropical yard. 
It’s a short walk to the secluded beaches where we have so often relaxed watching the sun rise and set! We cannot wait to return next year!! 

Sherry R.
Alpine, CA

Beautiful Location

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Located in Haena, one of the most beautiful areas of Kauai North Shore, Haena Sunrise is everything you want your vacation home to be -- welcoming, relaxing, beautifully decorated and each room is well-appointed with all the comforts one can wish for. It is a very short stroll along the secluded beach path that leads to the breathtaking coastline of some of the world’s most beautiful beaches; Ke’e Beach, Tunnels Beach and its world-class snorkeling and fascinating sea turtles, Lumahai. There are two large lanais, each decorated with inviting and comfortable furniture for dining or just relaxing at the end of each day. The kitchen is very well stocked with any convenience you will ever want. I have stayed in this home at least 3 times now and will continue to return here whenever possible. Each time I leave I start thinking about the next time I will be able to return. You too will want to stay here again and again.

Jan R.
Marana, AZ

Perfect 10!

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, July 28, 2014
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Haena Sunrise had all our beach necessities. The beds were so comfy and the kitchen had everything! Great secluded location close to beach access. Perfect 10! Thank you!

Megan A.
Saint Helena, CA

Well Equipped home away from home

Property Reviewed: 
Haena Sunrise
Dates Stayed: 
Saturday, November 9, 2013
Verified Guest Review
Experience Rating: 
5

Great location, proximity to favorite beaches, exceptionally well equipped. The is a very nice house. The design is great.

James E.
Poway, CA

Mixed Bag.

Reviewed on 2022-09-26 by Heidi A. , Concord, MA United States
Overall
1
Services from rental manager
1
Cleanliness
1
Location
3
Property condition
2
We love quiet spots of the North Shore of Kauai. This house was a nice house but our problem was with the management company. We called in advance to see if we could get an early check in and somebody was going to look into it and get back to us. Never heard back from them. We kept ourselves busy and arrived at the original check in time and the house was really dirty. Filthy bedspreads with sticky sauce spilled all over it and clearly not washed. Piles of dead bugs everywhere, used filter and coffee grinds in coffee maker, a used towel in between couch cushions etc. Not a happy arrival when you have to run to the grocery to get cleaning supplies and clean for 4 hours in order to sleep after a 14 hour travel experience. We called Kauai Vacation Rentals and received an apology and "I'll let the cleaning company know to be more detailed next time." Seemed rather insufficient if I am being honest. The location of the house is close to Tunnels which is nice but be warned that a couple of the houses that are next door look like junkyards with trash and broken down cars all over the property and lots of no trespassing and beware of dog signs. Personally, I I didn't feel comfortable letting my kids play in the yard.

Manager's Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our house. I apologize that your experience in our house did not meet your expectations. Our property managers notes say they did email the Ok for your early check in on the day of your arrival and apologize that you did not see the email. We are trying to mentally resolve conflicting input on house cleanliness. The house cleaner spent an extra two hours cleaning the house the day before your arrival because she was told that you had a dust allergy and she wanted to house to be as dust-free as possible. All of windows were closed when she left to maintain the cleanliness. Once again, we apologize for the items that were missed in preparation for your arrival. If KVR had been called the day the dirty items were found in the house, KVR would have had the house cleaner come to the house that day and take care of any problems. You are correct that the neighbor’s lot behind the house has a lot of junk cars, etc. Haena is residential community and you may want to choose different location in the future that will better meet your needs. We appreciate knowing you thought the house was nice. Mahalo, The Owners

Home away from home

Reviewed on 2022-07-13 by Ginger B. , Whittier, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
As a group we were amazed at the level of detail of the house, all the little things that make it extra special were there. From all the little notes, to the gifts, and anytime you needed an item it was provided. The house is beautiful, and located in a great neighborhood. It was truly an amazing vacation and I would book the house again.

Pure paradise

Reviewed on 2022-05-09 by , Redondo Beach, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Always a perfect stay with Kauai Vacation Rentals. Excellent communication. Property was absolutely perfect. Loved the path to the beach! Coffee on the lanai with double rainbows, magical. The house was spotless and had all the amenities we needed. We are always recommending Kauai Vacation Rentals - every property we have stayed at is perfect. But this one topped them!

Dinner at Postcards - great
Dinner at AMA - spectacular
Dolphin Fish Market - Best Poke and sushi ever
Donuts at Holy Grail a must

Re-entry from paradise is rough!
Thank you for a spectacular 11 days.

Nice place for staying

Reviewed on 2022-03-19 by Nataliia S. , Palatine, IL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
I fall in love with this place. Is was really nice, bright and clean. A big thank you to the owner of this place.

Final week on Kauai

Reviewed on 2022-03-01 by David M. , Fisherville, KY United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
My wife and I decided to spend the last of our 3 weeks in Hawaii at Haena Sunrise with our daughter and her family. We found the property to be clean, spacious and well equipped. We very much enjoyed our stay. A special shout out to Alicia who was great at getting us an early check in and late check out. A couple of negatives however- This property is literally at the end of the road-15 minutes from anywhere and much more to the main attractions on the island. The beach is a rock shelf-cool to walk on and explore but not for swimming. Lastly, the neighbors are close and had a loud outdoor party until 3 AM the last night we were there. Regardless, we had a great time and are glad we chose to stay there.

Perfect location, great views, privacy

Reviewed on 2022-02-16 by David Y. , Santa Barbara, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Bedrooms on either end with nice large open and airy common area/kitchen with lanais on both sides of house. Great view of mountains. Kitchen, bathroom, outdoor bathroom, laundry room all very functional and clean.

Terrific Location; Great House; Kauai is Amazing!

Reviewed on 2022-01-02 by , Glencoe, IL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
Our family of 4 (two teenage children) absolutely loved the house, area, location and island. the home is set up very well for a family of 4-6. 3 big bedrooms, well thought out open space. Large, functional kitchen. two great decks/outdoor space outside each of the bedrooms too. even closer to the beach than we realized. perfect location for accessing Napali Coast hiking trails, north shore beaches, Hanalei, and Kilauea. It is far from Waimea Canyon area and west coast beaches, and that drive has a lot of traffic. Our only suggestion for the house would be updated bedding / new sheets for the master bedroom.

Birthday trip

Reviewed on 2021-12-22 by Grant T. , San Luis Obispo, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
Great house. Decks on both sides, a nice breeze when you open the doors and windows, nice amenities in the house. We had two couples and really enjoyed our stay. The house is a short walk to the beach (not a great beach as it's mainly coral) but you can walk a small distance to get to a beach where you can actually relax on the sand. Great views, close to the Napoli Coast and Tunnels beach. About 15 minutes from Hanalei Bay.

Group of Friends on Vacation

Reviewed on 2021-11-15 by Nathan B. , Minneapolis, MN United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had three couples stay at this property. The house is located near the top/northern most part of the island. It is perfect if your goal is relaxation and easy access to beaches and hiking. Hanalei is an easy and pretty 15-17 minute drive for small groceries, restaurants, shopping, etc. We enjoyed this property because it was a little further out and planned our activities in the south as it is a two hour plus drive to hike in the canyon or go to Poipu etc. The outdoor shower was great and made it easy for post beach pre dinner clean up. Well stocked kitchen and great lanai you enjoy.

Haena Sunrise

Reviewed on 2021-10-31 by , San Rafael, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had a great time at this vacation rental. The house was even better than the pictures. It was a short walk to Tunnels beach to hang out for the day and a short drive into Hanalei for eating options. It was the perfect location. We used both of the lanais every day. It was a great vacation rental for a nice relaxing trip.

Haena Sunrise October 2021

Reviewed on 2021-10-23 by Dorothy B. , San Francisco, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4
This is a wonderful location if you want to be away from the crowds. The views from both Lanais are beautiful and the house is spacious and well-appointed. We would return to this property.

Beautiful Mountain Views

Reviewed on 2021-09-06 by Aaron H. , Mammoth Lakes, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We were really impressed with the beautiful mountain views.
The house was very clean and comfortable. The path to the beach was just a short walk. We had a great time. We would definitely stay here again.

Wonderful Home in Haena!

Reviewed on 2021-08-04 by Ann H. , New York, NY United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We loved our stay at Haena Sunrise! We booked the home the day of the avalanche in 2021, nervous about how that would work out staying north of it, and also nervous as there were no post pandemic reviews of the home. Thankfully we were overwhelmingly pleased by everything about the house! We were three couples and each room is soundproofed from the great room. The beds are super comfortable, the kitchen is nicely appointed, the views from the decks are out of this world. We often walked to Tunnels, using the provided beach chairs, and watched sunsets from our very close beach, as well as Ke'e and Kahalahala Beach (our favorite). The convoy made the traffic minimal during the week (in an already quiet area), so we think it was ultimately a blessing, even though we had to plan timing for leaving and returning to the north shore. The owners went above and beyond for us, offering a cleaning mid-stay since we were there two weeks, and gifting us with coupons as well as flowers and wine. The house is spotless and great care has gone into all of the details. We highly recommend and would definitely come back.

superb & enchanting

Reviewed on 2021-07-02 by Colin F. , Mill Valley, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Haena sunrise house, a mere short walk to a gorgeous beach, was everything we were hoping for our vacation. With amenities galore, Haena sunrise offers guests comfort and tranquility amidst the inspiring splendor that the north coast of Kauai offers. Everyone at Kauai vacation rentals was very helpful in addressing all of our questions and problems. We look forward to returning and enjoying Haena sunrise again!

Loved it!

Reviewed on 2021-06-24 by Julie L. , Albany, CA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We loved our stay at Haena Sunrise. The location wad amazing, near the end of the road. We could walk down to the ocean in a few minutes to a beautiful beach to see the sunset, get wet, or just relax by the waves. The house was great, nicely maintained and pleasing to be in. Beautiful views of the mountains. Everyone I talked to at the company was super nice and helpful. Our only disappointment was the TV situation. One remote didn’t work and we couldn’t stream anything on the main TV. Other than that it was a perfect stay. We would be back in a heartbeat